Are you looking for a meaningful practice that can help you deepen your connection with yourself and the world around you? Have you heard of Raja yoga, known as “Ashtanga” or “royal way”? If not, this article is for you! We’re going to take an in-depth look at what exactly Raja Yoga is and how its unique approach to physical, emotional, mental and spiritual growth can help you know yourself better. Keep reading so you can start enjoying all of its benefits now!

Raja Yoga: Welcome to the world of deep meditation!

Raja yoga, also known as ashtanga yoga or the “eight limbed path”, is an ancient form of yoga developed by Patanjali in India and based on the teachings of the great sage Vyasa. It is a system focused on the union of body and mind through the practice of meditation and yogic postures. Raja Yoga comprises eight key elements:

  • Yamas (moral codes).
  • Niyamas (practices of self-purification).
  • Asana (posture).
  • Pranayama (breath control).
  • Pratyahara (withdrawal from sensory objects).
  • Dharana (concentration).
  • Dhyana (meditation).
  • Samadhi (absorption).

The main goal of Raja Yoga is to achieve a high state of consciousness, often called enlightenment or self-realization. Practitioners use yogic postures, breathing techniques and meditation to achieve this goal. By releasing physical tension, calming the mind and developing greater awareness, one can free oneself from the ignorance and suffering caused by the awareness of one’s ego. Through regular practice, one can better understand one’s true nature and discover one’s highest potential from within.

Raja Yoga is not only a system of spiritual development, it can also be seen as a practical way to lead a healthy and balanced life. It works holistically with a focus on all aspects of life including physical health, mental clarity, emotional well-being and spiritual development. Through regular practice, practitioners will begin to experience better coordination between mind, body, and soul, which will improve mental clarity, energy levels, focus, creativity, and general vitality.

Let’s experience each element of Raja Yoga up close.

Yama (moral codes):

The Yamas are the moral codes of Raja Yoga and are five in number. They understand :

  • Ahimsa (non-violence).
  • Satya (truthfulness).
  • Asteya (non-stealing).
  • Brahmacharya (sexual moderation/celibacy).
  • Aparigraha (non-possession).

The Yamas give advice on how to act compassionately and ethically towards oneself and others.

Niyama (practices of self-purification):

Niyamas are the self-purification practices of Raja Yoga and also have five aspects. It is :

  • Shucha (purity/cleanliness).
  • Santosha (satisfaction).
  • Tapas (discipline/consistency).
  • Svadhyaya (study of self).
  • Ishvara Pranidhana (surrender to a higher power).

These Niyamas provide us with ways to maintain our inner peace, cultivate mindfulness, and develop greater self-knowledge.

Asana (posture):

Asana is the practice of postures or physical exercises used in Raja Yoga. These poses help us cultivate strength, flexibility, balance, and focus, which can then prepare us for meditation. Asanas improve circulation throughout the body, stretch and tone muscles, calm the mind and help reduce stress levels.

Pranayama (breath control):

Pranayama is the practice of breath control used in Raja Yoga. By consciously controlling our breath, we can increase our level of pranic energy, improve our mental clarity and reduce tension in the body. The different types of pranayama techniques include Kapalbhati, Bhastrika, Nadi Shodhana, Anulom Vilom, etc., each having their own advantages.

Pratyahara (withdrawal of sensory objects):

Pratyahara is the practice of removing sense objects from our awareness so that we can deepen meditation. By detaching ourselves from external stimuli, we can focus on what lies within us: true peace, contentment, joy, etc., which allows us to develop a connection between our body and our spirit. for a better understanding.

Dharana (concentration):

Dharana is the practice of concentration used in Raja Yoga, which involves concentrating one’s attention intensely on a single object or mantra, without any external distractions. This helps to further discipline one’s thoughts while clarifying the intentions that drive us to perform certain activities or set goals in life, etc., thus bringing balance to our lives.

Dhyana (meditation):

An uninterrupted flow of thoughts that helps get rid of unnecessary mental clutter while deeply connecting mind and body – leading to samadhi or enlightenment when practiced regularly with consistency and dedication.

Samadhi is absorption:

The deepest state of meditation where one experiences total bliss and oneness with the divine through unification with one’s soul and cosmic consciousness. This state allows for an individual’s spiritual growth and transformation as well as expansion beyond all visible and invisible boundaries and limitations of life!

* criptom strives to transmit health knowledge in a language accessible to all. In NO CASE, the information given can not replace the opinion of a health professional.